• Former Rafter Selected to Arizona Fall League

    • Share:
    September 19, 2019

    Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. – The first pitch for the Arizona Fall League was thrown last night and the season is underway. The AFL brings together the top 180 players in Minor League Baseball to play against one another. Roughly 60 percent of players that play in the AFL make a Major League Roster, including 321 All-Stars, 19 MVPs, six Cy Young Award Winners, seven World Series MVPs, 99 Silver Sluggers, 88 Gold Gloves, and 30 Rookies of the Year. This year the Rafters are represented by 2015 shortstop, Ernie Clement.

    In his time with the Rafters, Clement played in 33 games hitting .311 and notching 41 hits. He only struck out five times throughout the season and totaled 17 stolen bases. Clement helped lead the Rafters to the most wins in a season up to that point.

    In 2017, Clement was drafted by the Cleveland Indians and he has since then worked his way up the ladder. Most of the 2019 season was spent with the Akron RubberDucks, the Indians AA team. Clement totaled 103 hits and 46 runs this season with the RubberDucks. He was assigned to the Indians AAA team, the Columbus Clippers, on August 31st. In his 3 games with the Clippers, Clement had six hits, four RBIs, and held a .545 batting average.

    Clement was one of twenty-three former Northwoods League players who are playing in Arizona over the next two months. The former Northwoods League players and their AFL Team are as follows:


     Glendale Desert Dogs

    Vince Arobio                                      Madison 2015

    Marshall Kasowski                           Lakeshore 2015-2016

     Peoria Javelinas

    Nick Mears                                         Willmar 2017-2018

    Penn Murfee                                     Thunder Bay 2015

    C.J. Chatham                                      Wisconsin 2014

    Owen Miller                                       Lakeshore 2016-2017

    Jared Oliva                                          Wisconsin 2015-2016

    Salt River Rafters

    Simon Rosenblum-Larson             Madison 2016-2017

    Alex Vesia                                           Mankato 2016

    Luke Raley                                           Lakeshore 2015

    Mesa Solar Sox

    Jonathan Teaney                              La Crosse 2016

    Erich Uelmen                                     Eau Claire 2015

    Ernie Clement                                   Wisconsin Rapids 2015

    Greg Deichmann                              Lakeshore 2015

     Scottsdale Scorpions

    Mike Ellenbest                                  Green Bay 2014-2016

    Graham Spraker                               La Crosse 2015-2016

    Cullen Large                                       La Crosse 2016

    Garrison Schwartz                            Mankato 2017

    Surprise Saguaros

    Nick Raquet                                        La Crosse 2016

    Sterling Sharp                                    Madison 2014-2015

    Mason McCoy                                   La Crosse 2015-2016

    Nick Banks                                          Wisconsin 2014


    Josh Stowers                                      Madison 2016